Imagen
Since I was a little girl, I have loved watching movies but which is my favorite genre?..... Yeah, that’s right horror movies like vampires, zombies, ghosts’, serial killers, well… every horror movie out there. The best  horror movies made  are those from the 80’s and 90’s like “Friday the 13th”, “The Lost Boys”, “Return of the Living Dead”, “Night of the Demons” and many more. This last decade, the horror movies industry is lacking what they are supposed to do…. Scare people. This past ten years there had been some horror movies if you can call them like that, where they present silly vampires, zombies and serial killers that there are just boring. Now, I will present to you a comparison between two movies, one that I really like and another that I just said really? made in the present.

Movie that I liked

Imagen
Movie: The Evil Dead (2013)
Plot:  
      Five friends head to a remote cabin, where the discovery of a Book of the Dead leads them to unwittingly summon up demons living in the nearby woods. The evil presence possesses them until only one is left to fight for survival.

I really like this movie because it brings back what horror movies are supposed to do, scare people. The demons shown in this movie are very scary and it gives you the scare from its begging through the end of the movie just wanting to see more. Before watching this movie I used to say that I wanted to see a horror movie with tons of blood to scare the hell out of me and this movie just did. The Evil Dead is a remake of a movie with the same title from the 80’ and in this rare case it was better than the original. This movie definitely saved horror movies.

Movie that I didn't like Vs the original 

Imagen
Movie: Fright Night (2011)
Plot: A teenager suspects that his new neighbor is a vampire.


       Fright Night is a vampire movie also a remake from an 80’s movie with the same title but just gone wrong. The idea of the movie was changed in all the ways possible making the lead vampire Jerry Dandrige just a silly vampire. When I heard that this vampire was played by Colin Farrell I thought that he would bring back the mystery of this vampire but it just didn’t. Also, other main character changed was Peter Vincent “ The great vampire killer” was just some crazy drunk and worthless man who was running around scare. The movie was in 3D and I hardly could see any 3D effect and its effects they were just horrible. The makers of this movie just destroyed one of the best vampire movies made in the 80’s.

Imagen
 Movie: Fright Night (1985)
 Plot: A teenager suspects that his new neighbor is a vampire.


     The original Fright Night (my favorite movie of all times) had everything a vampire movie should have, scary vampires. Even though this movie was made on an era where there were the technology wasn’t as advance as it is today, it brings scary vampires made with real make up and not just made by computer. Also, the acting was really great with Chris Sarandon playing the lead vampire; it shows what vampires are supposed to be scary and mysterious. This movie is categorized one of the best vampires movies of all times and it is definitely worth watching and it is entreating and scary from its beginning through the end. Finnaly, this is the reason why I didn't like the new one it is just lacking of what a great vampire movie is.

Alba
10/27/2013 04:11:27 pm

Good reviews! I liked both of them. These movies aren't my cup of tea, but you made them seem interesting.

Reply
Alanna
10/28/2013 03:12:43 pm

Good post! Im not a fan of horror movies but I enjoyed the passion you transmit in your post about it :)

Reply
Selena Marie
10/29/2013 08:50:51 am

I liked that you gave a little introduction about your taste in movies before the reviews it made it more personal and approachable. I think your reviews were very well written, organized and easy to read.
You know I disagreed with the Evil Dead one completely but I think it is interesting to see the contrast of opinions, I know many people did like it so it just depends on the person. I do agree on the Fright Night one. I haven't seen the original but the remake was really bad. I remember finishing it and thinking seriously? That's it? Well those are 2 hours of my life I'm never getting back. Very nice post.

Reply



Leave a Reply.